The one survey benchmark for fiber subscriber acquisition cost is $135, from NRTC's 2024 Rural Broadband Operations Benchmarking Report (84 rural operators, 33 states, relayed by Telecompetitor), and the relay does not say whether that covers marketing alone or installation and equipment too. In our field experience, digital, mailers, and events land between $150 and $300 per subscriber. The fiber take rate calculator defaults its door-to-door input to $550; Knoqly's fee is agreed in writing per market. The sections below show what that buys and where it stops paying.
What counts in a subscriber acquisition cost
Cost per activation is the number to compare: total channel spend divided by activated subscribers, net of chargebacks. Cost per sale and cost per lead are different numbers, and part of the gap between NRTC's $135 and a $550 door-to-door fee is definitional: the $550 covers the rep, field management, permits, and chargeback risk, while nothing published says what the $135 covers [inference]. What belongs in the numerator:
- Door to door: commission and any base pay, field management, city permits and badges, background checks, sales software, and commissions clawed back on early cancels.
- Paid digital: ad spend, agency or in-house labor, creative, landing pages, and leads that never schedule an install.
- Direct mail: list, design, print, postage, and response handling.
- Events and pop-ups: booth fees, staff hours, giveaways, follow-up calls.
- Referral: credits to both households and program administration.
- Call center: agent hours or per-minute fees, telephony, list compliance.
NRTC's $135 arrives without a component list; read it as a floor for an established rural operator with a local brand, and a poor target for a new build [inference].
Acquisition cost by channel
| Channel | Cost per activation | Time to first activation | Contribution pattern | Chargeback exposure | Compliance load |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Door to door | $550 per activated subscriber at the calculator's default; quoted per market | Orders on day one; activation 3 to 14 days later on the install calendar [field experience] | Largest: one 1,317-address market went from 2.43% to 19.74% penetration in 14 days [Knoqly deployment data] | High but recoverable: 30, 60, or 90 day clawback windows (D2DHQ) | High: city permits and badges, background checks, CPNI under 47 CFR 64 Subpart U; who handles each when sales are outsourced |
| Paid digital | $150 to $300 [field experience]. Cross-industry 2026 search average: $66.69 per lead, 8.18% conversion, no telecom row (LocaliQ) | 2 to 4 weeks to build and tune, then continuous [estimate] | Steady once campaigns are tuned [field experience] | None recoverable: spend is sunk whether or not the order installs | Low: ad platform rules |
| Direct mail | $150 to $300 [field experience]. Postage alone is $0.26 per piece at EDDM retail (USPS) | 3 to 6 weeks from design to in-home; responses trail for weeks [estimate] | Low to steady: 5% prospect and 9% house-list response, cross-industry (ANA via Lob); a response is a call; the install still has to be sold and scheduled | None recoverable | Low |
| Events and pop-ups | $150 to $300 [field experience] | Event dates; activations land 1 to 3 weeks after [estimate] | Bursty: strongest at launch or with a co-op partner [field experience] | None recoverable | Low: venue permits |
| Referral | Two bill credits of $50 to $100 each, plus administration [estimate] | Needs an installed base; slow in a new build [inference] | Compounds once a street has installs [field experience] | Recoverable: credits post after activation [estimate] | Low |
| Call center | $27 to $38 per US agent hour, inbound (Worldwide Call Centers); per activation depends on what drives calls [estimate] | Inbound converts the day a campaign lands [field experience]; outbound: first activations 2 to 4 weeks after list load [estimate] | Inbound closes demand other channels create [field experience] | None recoverable on hourly billing; commission pricing exists (same source) | High for outbound: do-not-call registry and 8 am to 9 pm calling hours under 47 CFR 64.1200 |
Payback per channel at $74 ARPU and 0.9% churn
NRTC's respondents report $74 monthly ARPU, 0.9% monthly churn, and a lifetime value above $5,000 (via Telecompetitor, which does not state the CLV method). At 0.9% monthly churn the expected subscriber life is about 111 months. Payback below is gross: months of ARPU to recover the cost, before network and support costs.
| Cost per activation | Months to recover at $74 | Share of a 111-month life |
|---|---|---|
| $135 (NRTC benchmark) | 1.8 | 1.6% |
| $150 (low end outside D2D) [field experience] | 2.0 | 1.8% |
| $300 (high end outside D2D) [field experience] | 4.1 | 3.7% |
| $550 (calculator default door-to-door input) | 7.4 | 6.7% |
At every cost in the table the subscriber pays back inside the first year, so the channel decision turns on how many subscribers arrive and how soon, more than on the fee [inference]. And a 30 to 90 day clawback window covers 1 to 3 of the 7.4 payback months at $550, so chargeback terms belong in the comparison: a vendor paid per activation should be charged back on early cancels, as Knoqly is. How door-to-door fiber dealers get paid covers the clawback windows and how an invoice is checked against the install report.
Where door to door wins and where it loses
Door to door wins where the network is built and penetration is low. AT&T reports about 40% penetration in its legacy fiber footprint and about 25% in the markets it bought from Lumen (Light Reading, March 2026); that 15-point gap is at least 600,000 homes in a footprint of more than 4 million passings, homes AT&T's own marketing has already reached [inference]. NRTC's rural operators report 53% take rate with the least competition and 33% with the most (via Telecompetitor); a rep on the porch is the channel built to move the second number [field experience]. Take rate benchmarks by year since launch shows where a build of a given age should sit before you decide the gap is worth a crew.
It loses in three places.
- Multi-dwelling units. The FCC's 2022 order (FCC 22-12) bans exclusive and graduated revenue sharing with building owners, but exclusive marketing arrangements stay legal with disclosure, and unit access still runs through the property manager. Knocking without an access agreement produces trespass complaints and no activations [field experience].
- Markets above the 46.5% national average. The national average fiber take rate is 46.5% on unique passings (Fiber Broadband Association, RVA data); past that level most remaining households have already declined once, and close rate per door falls [field experience].
- Builds without install capacity. 200 orders sold into a two-week install backlog produce cancellations, and every cancel inside the window is a chargeback [field experience]. Match crew size to install slots before launch.
Compare channels on your own build
The fiber take rate calculator takes serviceable addresses, current penetration, revenue per subscriber, terminal take rate, crew size, and cost per subscriber for door to door and for your other channels, then charts four years of penetration, revenue, and cumulative acquisition spend for both paths side by side. Defaults start from the 1,317-address deployment above, with the other channels adding 8 penetration points a year combined; enter your own. What a contracted crew does and costs covers the engagement itself.
What is a good customer acquisition cost for a fiber ISP?
The one survey benchmark is $135, from NRTC's 2024 survey of 84 rural operators, with no component list. In our field experience, digital, mailers, and events land between $150 and $300 per subscriber. Judge any figure by payback: at $74 ARPU, $300 recovers in about 4 months.
Does door to door sales work for fiber internet?
Yes, on a built network with low penetration: one 1,317-address market went from 2.43% to 19.74% penetration in 14 days, 228 new subscribers [Knoqly deployment data]. It works poorly in MDUs without access agreements and in markets above the 46.5% national average take rate, where close rate per door falls [field experience].
Is door to door or digital marketing cheaper for an ISP?
Digital is cheaper per subscriber: $150 to $300 [field experience] against $550 for door to door at the calculator's default. Door to door is faster, and each month earlier is a month of ARPU. Cheaper per subscriber and cheaper for the build are different questions.
Direct mail or door to door for a fiber launch?
Run both. Postage is $0.26 per piece at EDDM retail and cross-industry prospect response averages 5%, so mail reaches every address cheaply and produces calls. A rep converts the households that never responded, and the mailer makes the knock expected [field experience].
How is door to door ROI measured for an ISP?
Three numbers: cost per activated subscriber net of chargebacks, months to a target penetration with and without the crew, and cumulative ARPU across that difference. The calculator charts penetration and revenue for both paths over four years, which gives the last two.
Do door-to-door subscribers churn more?
NRTC reports 0.9% average monthly churn with no breakdown by acquisition channel. Cancels inside the chargeback window can be measured, and a per-activation contract puts that cost on the vendor. Ask any vendor for its cleared-of-chargeback rate by market.
Sources
- Telecompetitor, Report: Average Rural Broadband Customer Lifetime Value Is... (2024-02-21) NRTC 2024 figures used above; CAC components not stated.
- NRTC, Rural Broadband Operations Benchmarking Report 2024 (PDF) Primary; image-only PDF. Figures taken from the Telecompetitor relay.
- Light Reading, AT&T keys on subscriber penetration, convergence in Lumen markets (2026-03-10)
- Fiber Broadband Association, U.S. Fiber Broadband Total Passings Reach 100M Mark (2026-04-15)
- D2DHQ, fiber sales commission software
- USPS, Every Door Direct Mail Price as shown 2026-09-07.
- Lob, direct mail response rates (relaying ANA figures)
- LocaliQ, 2026 Search Advertising Benchmarks
- Worldwide Call Centers, call center pricing
- FCC 22-12, Improving Competitive Broadband Access to Multiple Tenant Environments (87 FR 17181, effective 2022-04-27) Bans exclusive and graduated revenue sharing; requires disclosure of exclusive marketing arrangements.
- 47 CFR Part 64 Subpart U, Privacy of Customer Information (CPNI)
- 47 CFR 64.1200, Delivery restrictions (telemarketing)