Door-to-door sales for fiber ISPs
An outsourced door-to-door sales team for your fiber build, explained.
What an outsourced sales team does at the door, what outsourced direct sales is worth to a new build, how it compares with hiring your own reps, and what to check before you sign with any vendor, Knoqly included.
- 228
- New subscribers in 14 days, one 1,317-address market
- 500+
- Door-to-door fiber reps our founder has worked with since 2012
- 83+
- Deployments led by our team
What you are buying
An outsourced sales team that represents you well, with subscribers you can count.
The rep on the porch is wearing your logo. Knoqly recruits from a network of 500+ experienced door-to-door contractors, runs background checks to the standard you set during onboarding, and trains every rep to a written conduct standard before the first knock: truthful about the offer and the install, no pressure on a homeowner who says no, presentable, respectful of no-soliciting signs and local ordinances, and never an argument at the door. A rep who breaks that standard is removed from your market.
The job is activated subscribers. The record on the right is one market: 228 new subscribers on 1,317 addresses in 14 days. Our team has led 83+ deployments over our careers. Each crew is sized to your territory and your install capacity, and you get a weekly call throughout: what happened, what's coming, and anything we need from each other.
As an outsourced door-to-door sales partner for ISPs, Knoqly checks each market's solicitation rules, handles customer data under CPNI rules (47 CFR 64 Subpart U), and carries recruiting, onboarding, scheduling, field management, and rep pay, so none of it lands on your staff.
The whole thing runs as a five-stage engagement: recruit, vetting, train, deploy, check-ins. The engagement model, in plain language walks through each stage.
One market, 14 days
2.43% → 19.74%
228 new subscribers on a 1,317-address fiber market, penetration before and after a door-to-door deployment.
Read the case studyIn-house or contracted
Building your own crew versus hiring an outsourced sales team.
Running a door-to-door program is a full-time operating discipline. The question is whether it should be one of yours.
| In-house crew | Contracted crew | |
|---|---|---|
| Recruiting and turnover | Your HR team, continuous | The contractor's, priced into the per-subscriber fee |
| Training on the offer | Built from scratch | Onboarding program run with your stakeholders |
| Field management | A manager per crew, on payroll | Included; weekly check-ins with you |
| Cost structure | Salaries, commissions, vehicles, permits | One fee per activated subscriber |
| Ramp-down after a build fills | Layoffs or idle staff | Crew moves to the next market |
| Compliance exposure | Yours to build and audit | Shared: contractor operates it, you set the standard |
A 10-rep in-house team costs $567,200 to $988,900 a year in salaries, payroll taxes, benefits, managers, vehicles, recruiting and training before the first commission. The full cost table and breakeven.
What it costs
What outsourced direct sales costs, and what the fee buys.
Pricing is per activated subscriber, as it is with any fiber D2D sales vendor, agreed in writing for each market. Customers who cancel inside an agreed window are charged back against the fee, so you pay for revenue-generating customers only. No setup fee, no monthly minimum. The invoice lists only accounts that activated, and you can check it line by line against your own install report.
A door-to-door subscriber costs more than one from digital or mailers. In our field experience, those channels land between $150 and $300 per subscriber; a door-to-door rate is higher. The difference buys time. A fiber door-to-door sales crew reaches the take rate a build is going to settle at in months rather than years, and every month earlier is a month of subscriber revenue you would not otherwise have.
The take rate calculator puts both on one chart: penetration, cumulative revenue, and cumulative acquisition spend over four years, with your own market size, monthly price, and channel costs.
The rate is quoted per market and plan tier. Pricing models and contract terms.
How reps are employed
W-2 employee or 1099 contractor: what the question covers.
Door-to-door companies run one of two models. Sales Focus Inc states that every field rep is a W-2 employee. KnockFiber places reps as 1099 independent contractors, commission only, paid every two weeks on completed fiber installs. Two federal tests set the floor; California, Massachusetts, and New Jersey apply an ABC test that presumes employee status.
The IRS weighs 3 categories: behavioral control, financial control, and the type of relationship; “no one factor stands alone in making this determination.” A business that classifies an employee as a contractor with no reasonable basis “may be held liable for employment taxes for that worker.” Department of Labor Fact Sheet 13 applies 6 economic reality factors under the FLSA, among them the nature and degree of control, and states that no single factor determines status.
Ask because your contract can touch the tests: an ISP that writes rep hours, scripts, and territories into a vendor agreement is describing the control the IRS's first category weighs. Put the classification question on the same list as the background-check standard, insurance certificate, and permit process.
Knoqly's reps are 1099 sales contractors. Knoqly carries recruiting, onboarding, scheduling, field management, and rep pay, and the vetting standard is set with you during onboarding.
From signature to steady state
Six steps from agreement to a working crew.
How long each step takes depends on the vetting standard you set and the territory; ask for dates on the call.
- 1Agreement in writing
- 2Recruit
- 3Vetting
- 4Train
- 5Deploy
- 6Check-ins
The engagement model, in plain language walks through what each stage actually covers.
Before you sign with anyone
Five things to check, Knoqly included.
How they pay their own reps
67% of sales reps say they would stay longer at a company that paid commissions within 24 hours; 41% report waiting 30 or more days. A vendor's pay discipline toward its reps predicts how steady your field coverage will be.
Source: EvereeWhether the invoice checks against your records
Ask for the vendor's per-sale file and how a disputed line gets resolved. A vendor's invoice should list only accounts that activated, in a form you can check line by line against your own install report. Address-format mismatches are the most common reason a sale goes unmatched.
Source: iQmetrixPermits, badges, and background checks
Municipal solicitation rules typically need a company-level permit plus per-rep badges, and requirements vary by city. Ask any vendor for the background-check standard, the insurance certificate, and the permit process in writing.
CPNI handling in the field
47 CFR 64 Subpart U makes the carrier responsible for how its contractors handle customer data as well as how the carrier does. The vendor's data handling is your compliance exposure, so ask how orders are captured at the door and where customer data lives.
Commission triggers and chargebacks
Commission should trigger at activation. A fee at signature leaves every fallout with you. D2DHQ describes the deal originating in the field, the install confirming billable, and the commission unlocking on activation, with a clawback window after: four separate events, sometimes separated by months; the vendor's model has to match yours.
Source: D2DHQThe longer version, with the commission mechanics spelled out, is on the For ISPs page.
What a search returns
Twelve companies a fiber ISP finds, in their own words.
Six disclosures pulled from each company's own site: does it say, or stay silent.
| Company | Specific scale number stated | Direct contact named (phone or person) | Specific ISP client named | Pricing structure named | Employment model stated (1099/W-2) | Vetting standard stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Knoqly | ||||||
| KnockFiber | ||||||
| DSI Systems | ||||||
| Fiber Sales Team | ||||||
| Chipr | ||||||
| Sales Focus Inc | ||||||
| Lynxx | ||||||
| Perfect Vision | ||||||
| RS&I | ||||||
| Rivvia | ||||||
| Beyond Pro | ||||||
| Rasmussen Operations |
Knoqly states five of these six terms. Chipr and Sales Focus Inc state four; KnockFiber, DSI Systems, and RS&I state three. Every other company here states at least one.
| Company | What it offers | Pricing model as stated | Fiber-specific | Footprint as stated | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Knoqly | Recruits, vets, trains, deploys, and manages a door-to-door crew for your fiber build | Per activated subscriber; chargebacks on early cancellations; no setup fee, no monthly minimum | Yes; residential fiber ISPs | United States; recruits from the 500+ door-to-door reps its founder has worked with since 2012 | how-it-works |
| KnockFiber | Places door-to-door reps with fiber sales teams; 1099, “commission only, paid every two weeks on completed fiber installs” | Not stated for ISPs or sales teams | Yes | “250+ metros in 25 states” | knockfiber.com |
| DSI Systems | Fiber dealer program: training, support, SARA Plus platform; dealers sell “at the door” | Dealer commissions “up to $1,500 for each customer” when selling “additional internet, wireless, or home security services” | Yes; names AT&T, Kinetic, Ziply Fiber, Ripple Fiber, and others | “Access to Nationwide Fiber Providers” | dsisystemsinc.com |
| Fiber Sales Team | “Door-to-door marketing” for “ISP partners” | Not stated; reps are paid by commission | Yes; fiber internet providers | “Multiple markets across the country” | fibersalesteam.com |
| Chipr | “A telecom sales and distribution platform”; door-to-door, MDU, and B2B channels; “W2 employment” for reps | Not stated | Not stated; “broadband & connectivity”; Quantum Fiber among the carriers named | “22 States we Operate in”; “40k Homes canvassed monthly” | chipr.com; for carriers |
| Sales Focus Inc | “Recruits, trains, manages, and reports on a dedicated field sales team”; W-2 reps; a team in the field within 45 days | “A fixed rate”; no figure stated | Telecommunications is one of the industries listed; residential fiber named | “United States-based Sales Professionals”; “across dozens of states since 1998” | salesfocusinc.com; telecom page |
| Lynxx | Recruits reps for door-to-door fiber sales, styled as the “Internet Consultant” role; blitz travel schedule with flights, housing, and transportation covered | Not stated for ISPs; publishes only rep earnings (“average rep in 2023 made $65,450”) | Yes; “dynamic partnerships with different fiber providers nationwide” | “Some of the greatest fiber providers across the United States”; also recruits for solar | lynxxsales.com |
| Perfect Vision | Infrastructure distributor and “Authorized Retailer Program”; independent dealers sell fiber and satellite/cable services, plus a fiber-optic installation tools catalog | Not stated | Yes, among several verticals; named partners include Frontier and Kinetic | Describes itself as “a global leader” | perfect-vision.com |
| RS&I | Master sales agent and distributor; independent dealers sell AT&T, Brightspeed, Frontier, Quantum Fiber, and other carriers through RS&I's programs, not a company-branded field crew | Not stated; general marketing language only (“high commissions,” “fast payouts”) | Yes; runs a dedicated “Fiber Internet Headquarters” dealer vertical | More than 2,500 independent dealers nationwide | rsiinc.com |
| Rivvia | Recruits and manages independent reps to sell fiber internet door-to-door; provides inbound leads and a proprietary field app | Not stated; publishes a “Total $ Paid to Reps” figure, no rate or percentage | Yes; “Leading Fiber Provider” partnerships named only in the plural | “22 markets across the country,” opens new markets quarterly | rivvia.com |
| Beyond Pro | Recruits, vets, and trains reps under “tailored sales solutions” and “custom recruitment plans” for ISP and telecom clients; calls its field “direct marketing campaigns” | Not stated | Not named on-site; client roster includes AT&T, Frontier, GoNetSpeed, Nextlink, T-Fiber, and TDS | “More than 22 industry leaders” as clients; no stated market count | beyondpro.net |
| Rasmussen Operations | Runs recruiting “blitzes” branded “Blitz Intake”; provides leads, AI sales tools, and Griffin Hill-methodology training | Not stated for ISPs; publishes only rep earnings (“Top Reps $8K-$20K+ per blitz”) | Yes; “Sell Fiber. Get Paid Fast.” | Names one carrier partner, Brightspeed (“Brightspeed's Highest Volume Channel Partner”), despite “nationwide” language | rasmussenoperations.com |
Every cell comes from the linked page on the company's own site (original 5 checked 2026-09-07, 6 more checked 2026-09-08); Knoqly's row uses the same fields. Corrections go to partners@knoqly.com.
Questions ISPs ask
Straight answers.
Further reading
In-house vs outsourced door-to-door sales for fiber ISPs: the fully loaded math
Fully loaded 12-month cost of a 10-rep in-house door-to-door team vs per-activation outsourcing for a fiber ISP, with the breakeven and a hybrid option.
Fiber subscriber acquisition cost by channel: door to door, digital, direct mail, events
What a fiber subscriber costs to acquire by door to door, digital, direct mail, events, referral, and call center, with payback and chargeback exposure.
Who handles solicitation permits, CPNI, and badges when an ISP outsources door-to-door sales
Who is responsible for solicitation permits, CPNI compliance, badges, hours, and do-not-knock lists when a fiber ISP outsources door-to-door sales.
Let's plan your market.
20 minutes: your build, your timeline, and your install capacity.